Share |

Streets Named For Early San Franciscans

Pros: A brief history lesson
Cons: Getting sucked into wanting to know the story behind every street
Best For: Connecting with SF on a deeper level

Anza Street: Named after Captain Juan Bautista Anza. He arrived with soldiers and settlers from Sonoma, Mexico in 1776 and established The Presidio (portrait below).
Juan Bautista Anza
Bartlett Street: In honor of Washington A. Bartlett. In 1846 Bartlett became the first American alcalde (mayor) of the previously Mexican-ruled settlement of Yerba Buena. One of his last acts in office was the renaming of the town, henceforth known as San Francisco.

Clark Street: Named for William S. Clark. On the Northern point of Yerba Buena Cove, Clark founded a little settlement called Clark's Point. he built the city's first wharf there. That wharf actually lies today 30 feet below the street, at the intersection of Broadway and Battery.

Geary Blvd: John White Geary was the first postmaster of San Francisco. He was also the first mayor elected under the new city charter in 1850. Geary bequeathed the city a parcel of land, today known as Union Square.

Gough Street: In 1850, Charles H. Gough was riding his horse through the street, selling milk. In 1855 he was part of a committee appointed to lay out and name the streets in the Western Addition. He named Octavia Street for his sister, and Gough, after himself.

Montgomery Street: Captain John B. Montgomery was the Commander of the ship, the USS Portsmouth. He took the settlement of Yerba Buena from Mexico, by raising the American flag on July 9th, 1846 (portrait below).
Captain John B. Montgomery
Noe Street/Noe Valley: Jose Noe was the last Mexican alcalde of Yerba Buena. He owned a 4,000 acre ranch in the center of modern-day San Francisco.

Van Ness Avenue: James Van Ness was the mayor of San Francisco from 1855-1856. His father was the Governor of Vermont.